10 Weeks to NEAS 2014

10:03pm Fun time recording my first fully wired rehearsal last Saturday! I was not expecting any of it to be shareable, but lo & behold, there’s one “neutral” slide that doesn’t contain any earth-shaking content; & the fact that it contains a minor blooper at the end, prompted me to put it on YouTube for the record:

Also last weekend I found out the size of the conference room we’ll be using, & it’s about twice the size of my racquetball room. It’s slightly smaller than the combination of that room & the office/gym where I’m at right now on the other side of the wall to the right in the video. I also found out that a microphone will be provided, & (at least) the audio will be recorded professionally by the ETS hosts. Not sure if they’ll provide a copy, but as I’ve learned working for 3 decades in the aerospace industry, redundancy is crucial. Just ask Elon Musk (one of SpaceX’s test rockets exploded last month because it relied upon a single faulty sensor for one engine).

Been to a few stores recently searching for a particular Halloween prop to use during one of the most interesting slides of the entire show. Wasn’t able to find a suitable one, but know of one on eBay, & will buy it this weekend.

10:29pm

G.M. Grena

2 Responses to “10 Weeks to NEAS 2014”

  1. pithom Says:

    Not all scholars think the scarab and winged sun are “religiously neutral”. Considering the quality and suspenseful narration of your presentation now, I think I’d love to hear the full audio in a couple months. I hope it’s not at all like Evolution Science.

    • G.M. Grena Says:

      I’m anxious to give an elaborate response to your comment, but the next 10 weeks will fly by soon enough. All I’ll say for now is that it was impossible to cover every published perspective on the subject in the 30 minutes allotted. My initial 177-slide draft had 1 sentence acknowledging that fact, but that’s one of the fluff remarks I had to chop. I’ll keep your comment in mind for next week’s post. For now, I’ll just reiterate that this “neutral” slide is among the least controversial & most boring of the hundred. As always, thanks for your interest in this subject.

Leave a Reply

